No Plain Rebel – Book Review

30970438Title: No Plain Rebel

Author: M.C. Frank

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia

Pages: 204

Publisher: Self published through Createspace

Synopsis: In No Plain Rebel, Felix finds out the truth.
Or so he thinks. He’s trying to come to terms with that, as well as with the fact that the Clockmaster’s shack has been discovered by his fellow-soldiers, but he can’t exactly concentrate. The match girl’s fiery curls appear before his eyes every ten seconds, distracting him, and then he starts talking to her in his head.
Because she’s no longer there.
The Stadium is looming in the distance.
It’s ten heartbeats to midnight.

My Review: 

I’d like to thank the author for sending me a copy of No Plain Rebel in exchange for an honest review.

No Plain Rebel is part 2 of the No Ordinary Star series (read my review for the first book here) , and I have to say I liked it a lot better than the first one!

Firstly, it was a lot more plot based. In No Ordinary Star I felt like everything was just being introduced and started and nothing was being accomplished, but in No Plain Rebel there were some significant advancements. In addition to these plot advancements there also seemed to be lots of interesting revelations and secrets which kept me intrigued!

I also enjoyed seeing both Astra and Felix continue to develop and adapt to their new lives. Astra experienced realistic PTSD in her life with Felix due to the horrible things that happened to her as a child in “the box” prison. Seeing setbacks like this in storylines and relationships is refreshing because they are very realistic and thus make the story more realistic too.

I would also like to point out that Felix’s reaction to his first time tasting bread is literally my reaction every time I eat bread! It’s incredible!

I felt like the writing was a little bit choppy, but this also could be due to the small size of the book. I think it would have flowed better if the story could’ve been flushed out more. Either way the intriguing storyline made up for it!

I was not expecting that cliffhanger and now I’m so eager to get my hands on the third instalment, No Vain Loss, when it’s released!

My Rating: 

6a0133ee6f7655970b0134823aeb13970c-600wi


Have you read No Ordinary Star or No Plain Rebel yet? Do you want to? Let me know!

Kyla xx

Leave a Reply

