How I Choose My Books Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Kristin Kraves Books to do the “How I Choose My Books” tag and I’m so excited! Thanks Kristin!

  1. Find a book on your shelves with a blue cover. What made you pick up that book in the first place?

18594512

The Bone Season – Samantha Shannon

I’d seen this book around a little bit on bookstagram, but it wasn’t until I was ordering my first Fairyloot subscription box, which was deemed “perfect for fans of A Court of Mist and Fury and The Bone Season”  that I actually ordered it. It was the April Dreams and Wishes box, and I figured any book that could fall under this category was likely a book I would love! I also wanted to have read it so I would be more excited about the items in the box that went with it.

 

 

2. Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy but did. Why did you read it in the first place?

29220492 The Best Kind of People – Zoe Whittall 

This book was one of the options for my book club’s next read, and I vehemently voted for the other option. Contemporary isn’t usually a genre I reach for, especially when it’s about a role model family dealing with the shock of the father being accused of sexual impropriety with a minor. There are just other things I’d rather read about. But alas, this book was chosen as our book of the month so I read it. I was surprised to find myself enjoying it! Not that I loved it or I became more of a fan of this genre, but I did enjoy it and I found myself questioning many things I thought I knew.

 

 

3. Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick a book at random. How did you discover this book?

9361589

The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

I discovered this book while on spare in high school. I was in the school library browsing books because I’d finished mine and came across this one on the shelf. I sat down with it, planning to start it to see if I liked it, and then accidentally ended up walking out with it later, forgetting that it wasn’t mine yet! I also forgot to ever bring it back….. sorry….not really……

 

 

 

4. Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you. What did you think of it?

4989

The Red Tent – Anita Diamant

This book was recommended to me by a teacher at my high school who was also in the book club. She recommended it to me because she knows I love historical fiction, especially surrounding Jewish history. I absolutely loved this book! It’s written so beautifully and tells such a powerful story. It’s now one of my favourite historical fiction reads, and I plan on rereading it in the future.

 

 

 

5. Pick a book you discovered through book blogs. Did it live up to the hype?

23437156

Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

This book definitely lived up to its hype! I became obsessed so quickly! It was so action packed the whole time and I fell in love with the dynamic of the main characters. I seriously hope Bardugo writes more about these characters!

 

 

 

 

6. Find a book on your shelves with a one word title. What drew you to this book?

8709527

Bloodlines – Richelle Mead

I was drawn to this book because it is the first in a spin off series about a minor character in Mead’s Vampire Academy series. I was so obsessed with Vampire Academy that I was desperate for more of that world and hopeful for possible glimpses of the main characters I loved. Bloodlines was good, but not nearly as good as VA and I don’t think I ever finished this series.

 

 

7. What book did you discover through a film/TV adaptation?

409207

A Game of Thrones – George R.R. Martin

While I’ve never actually seen the show, it seems like everyone else in the world watches it, so I would constantly hear about how great it is. Little did I know it was also a books series. I really want to watch the show, so I bought the box set of the books and plan to start them soon so that I can watch the show afterwards.

 

 

 

8. Think of your all-time favourite books. When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

Okay, this question is implying a series of books, for which I would be stuck between Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series and A Court of Thorns and Roses series. They’re both incredible and I refuse to pick a favourite, so I’m going to change it to favourite book, singular.

51LK1NgAk6L._SX317_BO1,204,203,200_

The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

I first read this book in my grade 10 english class. My mom had recommended it to me before, but I never picked it up. When I finally did I fell so in love with the unique writing style and the characters. This book is incredibly beautiful and I think everyone should read it.

 

 

 

 

This was a really fun tag to do, even though I was continually running upstairs to look at my shelves between questions!! I hope you guys have fun with it too!

I tag:

Darque Dreamer Reads

Emma The Book Lover

My Week In Books

Tea and Literature

Books Coffee Cats

The Mystique Reader

Advertisements

11 thoughts on “How I Choose My Books Tag

    • I totally get what you mean! The writing is really beautiful but I didn’t really connect with any of the characters at all .. it’s not my favourite book but I still did enjoy it despite that.
      Also thank you so much!! 💗 I’ll check it out

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s