No Ordinary Star – Book Review

27419429 Title: No Ordinary Star

Author: M.C. Frank

Genre: Science Fiction, YA

Publisher: Createspace

Pages: 150

Synopsis: A soldier is summoned to the North Pole, days before the year changes, told to fix the great Clock for a celebration. He has no idea what to do.
A girl, hunted for the crime of being born, almost dies out on the ice. She is rescued by the last polar bear left alive.
A library waits for them both, a library built over a span of a hundred years, forgotten in the basement of an ice shack.
The world hasn’t known hunger or sickness in hundreds of years. It has also forgotten love and beauty.
The year is 2525.

Inspired by the short stories of Ray Bradbury, this futuristic novel is set in a world where Christmas -among other things- is obsolete and a Clock is what keeps the fragile balance of peace.

Written in three installments, this is the breathtaking and sensual story of how two unlikely people change the world, and each other, one book at a time.

My Review:

Firstly I’d just like to thank the author for sending me an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review!

I was first drawn to this book by its stunning cover, and sucked in further by the synopsis promising a futuristic, dystopian society with a bit of a mystery to solve – in a library, my favourite place! M.C. Frank certainly delivered this! The world she created was very intriguing and also very unique from other dystopian societies I’ve read about. I loved this because I didn’t feel like I was reading a book I’ve already read before, everything was new and fresh!

The characters were also very enjoyable to read about. Astra seems to be this wild and free girl who isn’t afraid to show all of her emotions, whether they be grief or excitement. This helps to show the contrast between her and Felix, who comes from the heart of the society’s military regiment, brainwashed and made not to feel by the pills he takes daily. I loved the dynamic between these two characters, especially as Felix began to adapt to life without the pills. Both characters also have mysterious backgrounds which I am eager to learn more about in the next book.

While I did enjoy the plot line and characters of the book, I had a few things that bothered me about its setup. I felt like a lot of the details about the world were just being told to me in the first few chapters, rather than shown which would have allowed me to discover the way things are for myself. I also felt that nothing really got accomplished in the book. It was as if the characters discovered a lot of things about themselves without a lot of major events happening that would lead them to those discoveries. I’m certain that the action will pick up between the next two books, but I think I would have liked it better if the character development had been interspersed by more plot points.

All in all, I did enjoy this book and I am intrigued to see where the next books will take Astra and Felix!

My Rating: 

stars


Have you read No Ordinary Star yet? What did you think?

Kyla xx

3 thoughts on “No Ordinary Star – Book Review

  1. Pingback: No Plain Rebel – Book Review | Seelie Pages

Leave a Reply

