The Mime Order – Book Review

 

17901125  Title: The Mime Order

Author: Samantha Shannon

Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Pages: 501

Synopsis: Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London…

As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on the dreamwalker, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take centre stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner.

Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.

My Review:

This review is spoiler free for those who have read the first book, The Bone Season (find my review here).

The Mime Order was an absolutely fantastic sequel to The Bone Season! I actually liked it even better!

I loved learning more about the inner workings of the Syndicate, as well as the dynamic between Jaxon Hall’s Seven Seals, and how it began to change after Paige was taken to Sheol I in the first book. It is clear that Paige has learned a lot about herself and what is important, and implements those values into her life back in Seven Dials.

I found myself torn on my feelings for Jaxon himself – there was a bit of a hate to love rhythm going on for me. While his selfishness and lack of compassion were evident, I found myself delighted by the grand way he spoke – even if it was in an extremely condescending way. It made him an interesting character, unique in that sense. But it seems he may not be just who we think he is after all….

Paige’s character was developed so much as she became confident in herself and her beliefs. So different from the rest of the Mime-Lords and Mime-Queens, she was good and cared about others and wanted to use her position to make a difference in the corruption of London and the Syndicate.

My love for Warden grew even more in The Mime Order. Though we didn’t see as much of him as I would have liked, you could sense his individualism blossoming, even if he had to hide it from the rest of his Rephaim group, the Ranthen.

The level of action kept increasing the closer we got to the end of the book. Many plot twists and unexpected surprises kept me intrigued, as well as seeing clairvoyant battle in action! This book was absolutely amazing and I’m so excited to start The Song Rising!

My Rating: 

5-stars

4 thoughts on “The Mime Order – Book Review

  1. Pingback: The Song Rising – Book Review – Seelie Pages

  2. Pingback: Favourite Reads Of The Year So Far | Seelie Pages

Leave a Reply

